Francesc Miró-Sans, who promoted the project due to the problem of capacity of the old ground of Les Corts. While the stadium's initially capacity was 120,000 spectators, the UEFA legislation cut the figure to 98,934 in 1994.
The British architect Norman Foster was commissioned to remodel the stadium to commemorate its 50th anniversary.
Besides taking in the incredible sight of a mythical football ground, visitors can also pop into the Fútbol Club Barcelona museum, where the sports and social history of one of the best teams in the world is told.
Walking up Passeig de Gràcia (the main street walking right out of the hotel) we encounter this marvellous building, its real name being Casa Milà.
It is known as La Pedrera, which means quarry in Catalan. The building was constructed between 1905 and 1907. It is located in Passeig de Gràcia and has not one straight line. Particularly outstanding are its marvellous natural elements and the wrought iron balconies, as well as the roof, with its original chimney.